Council Members

Mayor Kathi Hemken (2009-2024)

Kathi HemkenMayor Hemken was elected to her first term as mayor in 2008 and was reelected in 2012, 2016 and 2020. She has been a resident of New Hope since 1976.

Hemken’s community involvement includes: New Hope Planning Commission member and chair, Metropolitan Council Land Use Committee, North Metro Mayors Association (president two years), Hennepin County Active Living, Regional Council of Mayors, Northwest YMCA board member, New Hope Women of Today, League of Women Voters of Crystal, New Hope, and East Plymouth, Ambassador Care Facility Advisory Board, School District 281 volunteer.

Hemken is a retired production control supervisor at Honeywell. She has a B.S. degree from the University of Minnesota.

Phone: 763.537.7990

Council Member John Elder (2009-2022)

John Elder

Council member Elder was appointed to the City Council in May 2008 to fill a vacant Council seat. He was elected to complete the final two years of the unexpired term in a Special Election in November 2008 and reelected to four year terms in 2010, 2014 and 2018. He has been a resident of New Hope for more than 25 years.

Elder’s community involvement includes: New Hope Police Explorers - conducts annual training in hostage/crisis negotiations, Wings Soccer Club/Minnesota Thunder West Academy manager, Commissioner for the Bassett Creek Watershed Management Commission, and New Hope Community Farmer's Market founding and current Board Member.

Elder has worked for 30 years in law enforcement for the Hennepin County Sheriff's Office, Lakeville Police Department and New Hope Police Department. He is currently a Public Information Officer (PIO) for the Minneapolis Police Department.

He has a A.A. degree in criminology from North Hennepin Community College, a B.S. in police science from St. Mary’s University in Minnesota and an M.A. in public safety administration from St. Mary’s University.

Phone: 612.578.4322


 Council Member Andy Hoffe (2005-2024)

Andy HoffeCouncil member Hoffe was elected to City Council in 2004 and reelected in 2008, 2012, 2016 and 2020. He has been a resident of New Hope for more than 40 years.

Hoffe’s community involvement includes: Northwest Community Television board

Hoffe is a retired District 281 government and economics teacher at Robbinsdale and Cooper high schools. He is an active substitute teacher for the district. He has a B.A. degree in social studies and business education.


Phone: 763.537.2647

Council Member Michael Isenberg (2020-2024)

Council Member IsenbergCouncil member Isenberg was elected to City Council in 2020. He has been a resident of New Hope since 2005. 

Isenberg's community involvement includes serving on the New Hope Citizen Advisory Commission and West Metro Fire-Rescue District Community Emergency Response Team. Isenberg was a member of the Space Needs Task Force for the new city hall and police department facility as well as committees for the new Civic Center Park and New Hope Aquatic Park.

Isenberg works as a purchasing analyst for Polaris and has a bachelor's degree from Minnesota State University Mankato. 

Phone: 612.568.2337  


Council Member Jonathan London (2015-2022)

Jonathan LondonCouncil member London was elected to his first term in 2014 and reelected to another four year term in 2018.

London’s community involvement includes serving on the New Hope Citizen Advisory Commission, Robbinsdale Spanish Immersion School.

London is an investment advisor for Gardner Advisors, Inc.

He has a BBA from University of Wisconsin, Madison in accounting, economics and finance and an International Business Certificate.

Phone: 763.546.1293